Iron Man 2 (The Game) Is Better, Stronger, Faster

Iron Man, the movie, rocked the Casbah. It was a supreme surprise. Robert Downey, Jr. sparked the normally stoic, dislikable drunkard/millionaire Tony Stark to life with a quirky genius and refreshing inventiveness. Iron Man the movie has become one of my all-time favorite comic book movies.

Iron Man, the first Sega video game, sucked big sweaty elephant balls. It was all of the bad things that videogames shouldn’t be: unfocused, repetitive, uninspiring. It made you feel like Iron Man was a pretty lame super-hero as he fought endless waves of stupid thugs from five miles away. Who would want to play another Sega Iron Man game again?

Can Sega pull off a kick-ass Iron-Man 2 video game?

Can Sega pull off a kick-ass Iron Man 2 video game? My fingers are crossed.

“The world has changed, Jarvis. The crazies are getting smarter. I’m not alone anymore,” says Downey, Jr. in this first reveal trailer on Sega’s home page.

Hm… does this actually look, dare I say, intriguing? In a cynical world, no one in their right mind should give Sega a second chance after the first game’s poor effort. But things change, publishers learn lessons, people get inspired, and sequels shouldn’t be prejudged.

In Iron Man 2, developed by Sega’s San Francisco Studio–formerly known as Secret Level–a completely new creative lead heads up a mostly new dev team. The game is designed on a completely new, built-from-the ground-up engine, and gamers should get to play in the new Mark IV armor.  The game isn’t based on the movie, but shares elements of it, giving Sega wiggle room to do cool things in the game that it was restricted from doing the first time around (causing some of the first game’s issues).

For instance, Iron Man confronts Crimson Dynamo, as revealed in the first trailer, a character who isn’t in the movie (or so we have heard). From the video it appears that Sega has imbued Iron Man with a sense of power, enabling him to defeat enemies by blasting straight through them, ripping off their heads, and pummeling them to pieces. That’s sounds cool by me.

The story is penned by Iron Man comic book writer Matt Fraction, which means it will be more true to the character, his strengths and weaknesses, than anyone else is likely to pull off. Add to that the ability to research, create, and modify custom weapons for your suit before each mission and already this game sounds better.

A video game trailer can be deceiving. But this Iron Man 2 video does look bitchin’. Should we believe in Iron Man 2? I’m hoping Sega can pull it off, and I know it knows the first game stunk. So I am truly hoping they’re using that game as fuel to construct a truly kick-ass Iron Man 2 that’s worthy of the first movie and the Iron Man comic book legacy.

3 Comments

Filed under Comics, Movies, Video Games

3 responses to “Iron Man 2 (The Game) Is Better, Stronger, Faster

  1. Voritax

    I was trying to leave a coment, but as I re read it, it just seem redundant. Same old thing, movie licenced games suck, always do and always will. So I will stop here and say HI again Mr Perry, long time no see and is very, VERY nice to read you again.

  2. Douglass Perry

    Hey there. I remember you, Voritax. Good to hear from you, too. Gosh, licensed games always suck?? So provocative, I guess that means GoldenEye 007 stank and so did the pre-licensed Chronicle of Riddick. I guess it’s fair to say that those games are the exception to the rule.

    • Voritax

      Ok… I must admit that I forgot those two weirdos but I bet eaven you will have problems recalling other good licensed games. By the way, I´m sure you know about Marvel vs. Capcom 2 coming out tomorrow as DLC, do you think it might be a hint for an upcoming 3rd iteration of the series? I remember some videos that can be seen on youtube about that game (MvC3), but I think they are all fake, although I must admit, some of them DO seam a little bit real. Know anything?

Leave a comment